Bucket List Item Completed: Triathlon

complete a triathlon

Awhile back, I posted about signing up for a race, and today was the day! I hadn’t completed a triathlon before and it has been on my bucket list, so I decided to finally go for it. Training didn’t go as well as I’d like, since I’ve been busy preparing for a new job (starting Monday) and packing for a big move, so I ended up mostly just winging it. It was a sprint triathlon (this one had a 250m swim, 17-mile bike ride, and 5k run), so it was a good beginner race. I am a runner, so I wasn’t too worried about that portion, but only practiced swimming once (oops!) and don’t have the right kind of bike (mine is a hybrid and I didn’t feel like purchasing a road bike just for this, since it was more of a practice; I’ll definitely invest in better equipment for my next one), so I didn’t feel extremely prepared but my goal was just to finish it.

I made sure to arrive very early, since this was my first time. The transition area wasn’t too intimidating and I was able to get assistance from several other participants nearby, who were extremely helpful in making me to feel more comfortable. The swimming part was in open water in a lake, which was a bit of a challenge for me, but I didn’t stop at all, so I was happy about that. The biking portion was terrible for me because of my lack of appropriate bike. Participants were encouraging me along the way though and acknowledging my difficult bike. The run was the easiest part for me. Overall, it was a fun experience and I’m definitely glad that I did it. I’m looking forward to do another one at some point soon!

5 thoughts on “Bucket List Item Completed: Triathlon

  1. Pingback: Different kinds of brick session for triathlon duathlon? | the5krunner

Leave a Reply

