Visit Family Members

With often hectic schedules and lack of abundant vacation time, many people that live away from family members (or even those that live nearby), may not spend as much time with them as they would like to. While everyone varies in their relationships with their relatives, it is fulfilling to attempt to maintain contact with them as much as possible. When all else fails, your family members are the ones that should be there for you during rough times, big life events, and anything in between. I come from a small family and regret not getting to know my extended family better. This is something that I plan on working on!

For the 4th of July weekend, I decided to take a quick trip down to Florida to visit some of my family members. I was able to see my grandma, whom I hadn’t seen in about a year, along with my dad and my cousin. Since I’m living a few states away and don’t get many long weekends, I haven’t been able to visit them as much as I’d like to. I’m going to be moving to Texas and starting a new job soon, so I felt that I should try to squeeze a trip in while I could, and I’m very glad that I did! I’ve always been close with my grandma, but hadn’t seen my cousin and his wife in awhile, so I was able to get to know them a bit better and had a great time bonding with them. I’m consistent with staying in contact via phone with my dad and my grandma, but nothing beats face-to-face contact and the look on my grandma’s face was priceless when she saw me (it was a surprise). šŸ™‚

Image

So if you’ve been thinking about it for awhile, go ahead and plan that trip to see some of your relatives! If you are far away and a visit isn’t feasible, give them a quick call on the phone. I’m sure that you’ll be glad that you did!

Leave a Reply

