Make Your Own Coffee

According to MSN, over half of U.S. employees buy coffee while at work, averaging around $20 a week, or around $1040 per year. According to Statistic Brain, the average cost of a cup of coffee costs around $2, and the average coffee drinker drinks about 3 cups of coffee per day (making the average closer to $30 for a typical work week). Think of what you could do with an extra $1000 a year! To put that into perspective, that would be a savings of $30,000 (not including interest) from age 20-50 — a nice amount for retirement!

The average cost of ground coffee is about $5 per 12-oz bag (DailyFinance), which Folgers claims can make around 90 cups of coffee. If you have one cup of coffee per day, that container of coffee can last you for 3 months ($5 for 3 months compared to $120 if buying a cup a day at work at $2 a cup). If you brew your coffee at home, you do not need a fancy coffee maker – I think that I spent around $30 for one at Target and it has lasted at least two years now. What a great investment!

I was never a big coffee drinker, only buying an occasional latte in college to help with studying, but found that I would crave it more after entering the workforce. I began by purchasing a cup here and there during the work week, but decided to brew my own at home before work. Some days I still felt like I needed an extra boost in the afternoon and would purchase a cup of coffee, cup of tea, or an afternoon snack, but getting more sleep helped me to completely avoid that habit, so I’ve saved tremendously while at work (see my post on getting enough sleep). You can also purchase a coffee maker to keep at your desk at work.

Check out these articles for more coffee statistics:

http://money.msn.com/saving-money-tips/post.aspx?post=a4bfe6f5-2fc2-4955-8765-089ae1c1c88d

http://www.statisticbrain.com/coffee-drinking-statistics/

If you’re a regular coffee drinker, you can save hundreds of dollars each year by making your coffee at home!

Image

2 thoughts on “Make Your Own Coffee

  1. I like the sweet flavored coffe drinks from places like Starbucks but I bought a Keurig and some flavored syrups and use that to recreate my favorite drinks! Still not the most cheap option, but a lot cheaper than a Starbucks habit!

  2. Pingback: Bring Your Own Lunch to Work | Tips for Living Your Best Life

Leave a Reply

